GPS Tracker with two way GSM/GPRS Communication

Hi there,

I have a need for a device that does the following:

• Logs GPS at x interval
  • Sends the log to a GSM/GPRS module. The log is then sent via SMS/GPRS at x interval.
  • I would also need to send the GSM/GPRS module commands that would trigger a couple of relays. i.e.: ‘relay1,1’ - trigger relay 1 - and read the input from a couple of relays too.

I have done some basic research and it seems that an Arduino unit with a couple of ‘plug in’ units might fit the bill, but I’m not 100% certain.

I am an experienced programmer but have never attempted a ‘hardware’ project before (except much fun with a lego mindstorm set!).

I currently have 2 separate ‘off the shelf’ units that do what i need, but they are both a) very expensive and b) not flexible enough to do exactly what we need - limited i/o ports and programming functionality. :frowning:

I would be very interested to hear the arduino communities view on the feasibility of the project, along with any tips and advise!

Many thanks for your assistance in advance,
Chaost :slight_smile:

• Logs GPS at x interval

Logs or reads? If you really need to log it, where?

• Sends the log to a GSM/GPRS module. The log is then sent via SMS/GPRS at x interval.

Is that the same interval as the data is read?

• I would also need to send the GSM/GPRS module commands that would trigger a couple of relays. i.e.: 'relay1,1' - trigger relay 1 - and read the input from a couple of relays too.

What do you expect to get when you "read the input from a relay", since a relay is an output device?

I have done some basic research and it seems that an Arduino unit with a couple of 'plug in' units might fit the bill, but I'm not 100% certain.

The "plug in units" are called shields. You need one with a GSM/GPRS module and one with a GPS module and one with a SD card reader/writer.

Feasible? Certainly. Well, at least maybe.