gr63x55 dunkermotoren with RE30-2 motor controller

I love the name of the company. Anyway…

I got this motor out of one of those transfusion pumps that someone was tossing, and have use for a stepper or otherwise thats going to need a little bit of torque and I’m pretty sure this will deliver (at almost 5lbs, it ought to…) - plus it was free :stuck_out_tongue:

Anyway, I’m new to working with steppers and what not and while I think this thing is going to be way over kill for my needs, I’m still curious and would at least like to be able to make it work - even if I don’t end up using it.

Here’s the page on the motor and controller (hopefully the link wont go dead): GR 63x55

this is a direct link to the datasheet on the controller: RE 30

12 volts for the motor, 5 for the controller. The controller appears to draw to much power for the arduino (I’ve also got an easydriver but I think its probably too much for that as well). In any case, I’m a bit unclear from the data sheet what exactly I’m supposed to do… The wiring doesn’t seem to quite match the controller model, but it definitely says RE30 on the back and RE30-2-500 on the side, but the connector has 4 wires in a 5 pin connector in the following order:
1-Black
2-Empty (though if I unplug it, there is actually a pin there)
3-Yellow
4-Red
5-Green

(The motor has separate red & black leads for power)

Attached a couple of pics - tried to clean them up, but the motor is silver so it was hard to get good light on it.

If this is an asked and answered, I apologize - I wasn’t quite sure what to look for.

According to your photo of the motor plate, that is the 60 volt version of the motor. "U" is the German shorthand for the potential (voltage) of the power supply. It is a brushed DC motor, with a starting current of 20 amperes, according to the motor data sheet.