graphing serial port inputs using processing code

I am trying to use the inputs of a potentiometer to graph them using processing code and i am using the sample code generated by Arduino website for beginners:http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/Graph but unfortunately i can compile the arduino code but not the processing code. Am i suppposed to have both of codes under the same file or 2 seperate files or their might be even sth trivial since i’m new to Arduino. this is the error i get:
error: ‘import’ does not name a type In function ‘void setup()’:
In function ‘void draw()’:
At global scope:
Any suggestions would be appreciated

You need to have the Processing stuff in one sketch, and the Arduino stuff in another sketch. Then, you use the Arduino IDE to compile the Arduino stuff, and upload it to the Arduino.

Then, you use the Processing IDE to compile the Processing stuff, and run it on the PC.

Thank you very much..I did exactly what you said and it seems to be working except i get an error with this code: PImage myImage; myImage = loadImage("Lcd.jpg"); image (myImage, 0, 0,width,height); it says there is a null pointer..Anybody knows why? maybe the picture has to be under the same directory of the file? maybe i missed to declare or download some library.I know i downloaded 2 zip files..one for Arduino and one for processing and I'm assuming they include everything Thank you for your support again

The loadImage command returns a pointer to the image it loaded. If it can't find the image, it returns a NULL pointer.

maybe the picture has to be under the same directory of the file?

I think there should be a data directory in the Processing sketch directory, in which the picture goes. The instructions where you got the sketch from should have told you where the picture goes.