Ground Interference On EMF Detector

Hi Members,

I am new to both Arduino and this Forum so please take it easy on me ;) I'm using Arduino Uno to learn electronics (i'm a computer programmer by trade) and my first project was to follow the below links to create an EMF detector: http://www.instructables.com/id/Arduino-EMF-Detector/ http://www.aaronalai.com/emf-detector

This works perfectly when powered from the Laptop over USB or from a 9v battery. But when I plug it into a USB charger or more importantly into my Raspberry PI then I see the EMF reading jump all over the place and give consistently high readings.

I need to connect to the PI over USB so I can use the USB Serial to send EMF data to the PI. I tried even using the battery at the same time as the USB connection, knowing that the Arduino would use the Battery first. However this still gave the interference.

What I have also found is that touching the USB ground shield drops the interference significantly and therefore I presume this interference is coming from the ground source.

Does anyone have any ideas on how to either stop the ground interference or shield the EMF sensor from it?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Gary

Bump.

I've since found that using an Apple iPhone USB charger minimises the noise. It's still there as I see the EMF fluctuating slightly with no contact from an EMF source, but it is much better than with other USB chargers. The noise is eliminated completely if I use battery power.

Anyone have any idea on how to minimize or eliminate noise travelling from the AC USB inlet up to the Raspberry Pi then through the USB cable to the Arduino Uno?

Thanks, Gary

Found the solution. So thought I would reply back so that the solution is out there.

Sorry about the lack of electrical knowledge. Please feel free to correct me ;)