"Grouping" integer values from an array

Hi guys, newladybye here :) In my project i receive a byte array of 12 elements 3 of these elements are integer values ( from 0 to 9) that represent a code for another purpose. For example data[0]= 5 ,data[1]= 6, data[2]= 3;

i'd like to "group" them up to create a longer integer that represents this code ( in this case code=563) I'm a newbie in programming so... how can i do that?

You could add '0' to each one, and add a character 0 to the end of the array - thus turning it into a string.

So majenko you mean something like : code1 =data[0] + '0'; code2 =data[1] + '0'; code3 =data[2] + '0'; code4='0'; String newstring = code1+code2+code3+code4 ;

?

@HazardMinds i looked for atoi() but it seems to do the opposite of my purpose . It converts a string to integer, i need to take integers and create a longer integer

Hell no. Stay away from String like the plague!

It's as simple as:

data[0] += '0';
data[1] += '0';
data[2] += '0';
data[3] = 0;
Serial.println((char *)data);

Add '0' to each entry of the array. Remember, a character is just a human representation of a number, so just add a pre-set number to each entry so it represents the right character (in this case '0' - the ASCII character 0 not the integer 0). Slap 0 on the end (C string terminating NULL character) and treat it like a C string (cast it to char *).

majenko: Hell no. Stay away from String like the plague!

It's as simple as:

data[0] += '0';
data[1] += '0';
data[2] += '0';
data[3] = 0;
Serial.println((char *)data);

Add '0' to each entry of the array. Remember, a character is just a human representation of a number, so just add a pre-set number to each entry so it represents the right character (in this case '0' - the ASCII character 0 not the integer 0). Slap 0 on the end (C string terminating NULL character) and treat it like a C string (cast it to char *).

Ok, thank you, now it's more clear...... but what about making comparisons with this ?