grouping temperature sensors

Hello, as i am new to arduino this question might be silly but still... i have 5 diy aquarium LED lamps which i control with arduino. In the hood of each lamp there is a ventilator installed which is controlled (at the moment) by the simple timer. My idea is to connect the ventilators (12v) directly to arduino and to link them to temperature sensor. My problem is that i have a pre-programmed shield with one pin to connect ONE temperature sensor. I am thinking to do the following - to connect 5 temperature sensors in parallel (one in each hood) and to plug all of them to one pre-programed contact on a shield, like that i would expect the computer to receive a signal of a hottest sensor (without identifying which one is the hottest) and to start all the ventilators at once. The question would be - can it work like that? Can i simply group few temperature sensors and expect that ventilators will be on when any of 5 temperature sensors would exceed the limit safe temperature?

Hope my explanation make sense.

Can i simply group few temperature sensors and expect that ventilators will be on when any of 5 temperature sensors would exceed the limit safe temperature?

In general: no.

You forgot to provide links to the hardware you used (that "pre-programmed" shield as well as the temperature sensors). There is a myriad of possibilities of hardware in this area and we don't like to guess which one you might be using.

I am going to use DS18B20 temperature sensors. concerning the shield - i received it assembled with arduino mega board and touch screen and it is pre-programed to dim leds, control temperature etc. problem is that i have 5 lamps and only 1 pin ready to connect the sensor? I could put a sensor in one of 5 lamps but it might be that for some reason 5 lamps produce different amount of heat.