Grove - Finger-clip Heart Rate Sensor with shell Coding

Hi i am currently working on a project whereby i am using a Grove - Finger-clip Heart Rate Sensor with shell with an Arduino UNO. I am using the following; GND, 5V, A4 and A5 connections.

I am having problems obtaining the sensors i2c address. All i2c scanners are not finding any devices.

I am using the following coding to use the sensor;

#include <Wire.h>

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
  Serial.println("Heart Rate Sensor");
  Wire.begin();
}
void loop()
{
  Wire.requestFrom(0xA0 >> 1, 1);    // request 1 bytes from slave device
  while (Wire.available())          // slave may send less than requested
  {
    unsigned char c = Wire.read();   // receive heart rate value (a byte)
    Serial.println(c, DEC);         // print heart rate value
  }
  delay(500);
}

Someone please help me URGENTLY and let me know where i am going wrong and how i can get the sensor working. I am not an expert with arduinos so i may be a silly mistake that i am making.

Thanks! :slight_smile:

What is the urgency, exactly?

Hi,
Welcome to the forum.

Please read the first post in any forum entitled how to use this forum.
http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php/topic,148850.0.html then look down to item #7 about how to post your code.
It will be formatted in a scrolling window that makes it easier to read.

What do you see in the serial monitor, you have the monitor speed set at 9600bd?

Thanks.. Tom... :slight_smile:

aarg:
What is the urgency, exactly?

Well I am currently working on a project and i need to get coding working asap to meet deadline. :frowning:

Do you have any solutions to this problem?

i think it may be the i2c address... but i am unable to obtain an i2c witht the i2c scanner..........

If the scanner can't see it, it isn't wired correctly.
Do you have 4.7k pullup resistors on a4 and A5? (maybe the Grove already has those but you didn't post a link)
Are SDA (A4) and SCL (A5) wired correctly?

Pete

el_supremo: