growing lions mane mushrooms with arduino

I'm trying to use an arduino to control the humidity in a closed environment and run a small fan to exchange air in the box. I have the AM2302 sensor (AM2302 (wired DHT22) temperature-humidity sensor : ID 393 : $15.00 : Adafruit Industries, Unique & fun DIY electronics and kits) to monitor the humidity/temperature, a standard 16x2 lcd to display these values, a 12v peristaltic pump (Peristaltic Liquid Pump with Silicone Tubing - 12V DC Power : ID 1150 : $24.95 : Adafruit Industries, Unique & fun DIY electronics and kits), but i havent picked a fan yet. I want to run the circuit using a 12v dc adapter to the arduino's Vin so the pump runs at full speed but the humidity sensor can only take 3-5V. I'm a beginner at creating circuits so i dont know the best/most efficient way of powering the pump at 12V and dropping the voltage down to 5V to power the sensor, and lcd.

A common way to get a regulated 5v is to use a 7805 voltage regulator. However if the sensor only draws a few milliamps you can power it from the Arduino's 5v pin.

Be sure NOT to draw power for the pump or the fan THROUGH the Arduino board.

...R

Hi,

I'm trying to use an arduino to control the humidity in a closed environment and run a small fan to exchange air in the box.
I have the AM2302 sensor
(AM2302 (wired DHT22) temperature-humidity sensor : ID 393 : $15.00 : Adafruit Industries, Unique & fun DIY electronics and kits)
to monitor the humidity/temperature,
A standard 16x2 lcd to display these values.
A 12v peristaltic pump
(Peristaltic Liquid Pump with Silicone Tubing - 12V DC Power : ID 1150 : $24.95 : Adafruit Industries, Unique & fun DIY electronics and kits).
But i havent picked a fan yet.
I want to run the circuit using a 12v dc adapter to the arduino's Vin so the pump runs at full speed but the humidity sensor can only take 3-5V.