Growth chamber with Arduino?

Hi,

First of all, I'm a complete beginner to arduino, I have no idea how anything works, I just need to make sure what I want to do is possible before I statrt. Sorry about stupid questions, I will be very grateful to anyone who can help me here.

I want to build a growth chamber to do experiments with plants, my current setup will need to control:

14 (or 11) solenoid air valves (DC, 12V)
4 (or 3) pressure and humidity sensors
5 (or 4) air pumps (the ones for aquarium water oxygenation)
3 (or 4) lamps
1 vacuum pump
1 oxygen sensor (Seeedstudio Grove O2 sensor for example)

Will arduino be able to control all of those? I'm assuming it's just simple on/off input, but maybe I'm wrong.
Will it all fit into one arduino?
What else would I need? Somebody mentioned an amplifier for the sensor, or some additional controllers for the valves?

Thank you so much!
Peter

Will arduino be able to control all of those?

Not a hope in hell. The pressure and humidity and oxygen sensors will do what they want, with no regards to what the Arduino is telling them to do.

I'm assuming it's just simple on/off input

The air valves (controlled by solenoids) and vacuum pump are not inputs. They are outputs.

Will it all fit into one arduino?

The Arduino has no "inside", so fitting everything INTO one Arduino doesn't make sense.

A Mega can read all the sensors AND control all the outputs.

Somebody mentioned an amplifier for the sensor

Which one? What was the person smoking?

Yes, an arduino can do all of that. You have a lot of outputs, so it will need to be one with a lot of pins e.g. Mega, Due. There are ways to do it with a smaller device but for simplicity, more pins is better.

You will likely need a real time clock as well so you can follow a schedule.