GSM & Microcontroller

Hello,

This is my first post and I am an absolute beginner.

I am looking to put an Arduino, GSM shield, Microswitch and a mobile power source inside a box and have it set up so that when the box is picked up i am sent a text message.

has anyone done anything similar and what exact products should I purchase? (I am in England)

Thank you Thank you

Oliver

Start here: http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/GSMExamplesSendSMS

The sketch will require modification to read an input port which has a switch (senses the box being lifted.) The texting stuff and other GSM settings should map fairly closely to the final need.

Ray

Thank you very much :slight_smile:

Is it possible to power the arduino and GSM shield from a battery for around a week? if so what sort of battery do i need?

@botcecat:

Is it possible to power the arduino and GSM shield from a battery for around a week?

With the right power management, perhaps. Like my smartphone requires recharging every night so extrapolate that into a week and it would be a large battery, right? But if both are sleeping most of the time...

For the Arduino, Nick Gammon has an excellent article on low-power coding:

A response of GSM shield and associated power saving techniques is being left open in hopes that other informed members with experience will have input.

Ray

boycecat:
Is it possible to power the arduino and GSM shield from a battery for around a week?

You mean this?

Maybe.

boycecat:
if so what sort of battery do i need?

A BIG one.

Think in terms of six D cells ... and even then you might not make it to 7 days.

Be sure to read pages like this:

http://comoyo.github.io/blog/2013/08/09/How_to_efficiently_operate_the_Arduino_GSM_shield_with_a_battery_pack/

I have got the below working so that when the gsm turns on it sends a me a text. could someone help me putting it in to a debounce circuit to trigger on a microswitch release. please.

*/

// Include the GSM library
#include <GSM.h>