GSM Shield 2 on Arduino Uno setup problems: GSM Modem Test fails. Shield broken?

Wish you all a happy new year! Maybe you guys can help me out in these cold winter days to get on with my DIY project.

I am an experienced software programmer but only know basics on hardware / electronics. I made myself a small photovoltaics (pv) offgrid system that I want to monitor with Arduino. I managed to read the pv systems battery voltage by using a voltage divider and amps coming from solar modules by using a hall sensor. Next, I want to use the data to send me an alert when the battery is low. So I bought a GSM Shield 2. For troubleshooting I removed all the sensor stuff and only use Arduino Uno and GSM Shield 2.

After a few days of reading through the internet I still am still not getting my GSM Shield 2 up and running. ON LED and STATUS LED are on, NET is flashing once / sec. Got the same problem with and without using a 9V external power use on the power supply jack.

I read through the guide from Arduino again and again

Either I miss something completely obvious and beginner like thing, or there is a serious problem with my shield.

Hardware:
Arduino Uno R3
GSM Shield V2 R3

IDE

I modified the ModemTest that can be accessed in the IDE from File → Examples → -> GSM → Tools → TestModem

// libraries
#include <GSM.h>

// modem verification object
GSMModem modem;
int returnCode = 9;

void setup() {
  // initialize serial communications and wait for port to open:
  Serial.begin(9600);
  while (!Serial) {
    ; // wait for serial port to connect. Needed for Leonardo only
  }

// start modem test
  Serial.println("Starting modem test...");
  returnCode = modem.begin();
  Serial.print("modem.begin() returned: ");
  Serial.println(returnCode);
}

void loop() {

// do nothing:
  while (true);
}

This sketch generates the following result

Starting modem test...
modem.begin() returned: 0