Guage Cluster Programming

Let’s try this again now that I have gotten a little bit further into the project.

I am working on reverse engineering an instrument cluster from a newer truck and currently wrote a program to test out the hex signals and make sure I have the correct CAN ID and Byte Information causing the tach and speedo to move with a potentiometer. and I have an LCD as well in order to make sure I am sending the information I think I am TO the cluster.

Here is the code I have SO FAR, was hoping for some input from more experienced people on the forum because I’m extremely new to this.

#include <mcp_can.h>

#include <SPI.h>

#include <LiquidCrystal.h>

MCP_CAN CAN0(10); // Set CS to pin 10

int sensorPin = A0; //setting potentiometer pin

int sensorValue = 0; //value for later for potentiometer

LiquidCrystal lcd(9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4);

void setup()

{

lcd.begin(16,2);

Serial.begin(115200);

// Initialize MCP2515 running at 16MHz with a baudrate of 500kb/s and the masks and filters disabled.

if (CAN0.begin(MCP_ANY, CAN_500KBPS, MCP_16MHZ) == CAN_OK) Serial.println(“MCP2515 Initialized Successfully!”);

else Serial.println(“Error Initializing MCP2515…”);

CAN0.setMode(MCP_NORMAL); // Change to normal mode to allow messages to be transmitted

}

void loop()

{

sensorValue = analogRead(sensorPin / 4); //setting up the value of the potentiometer for transmission

byte data[8] = {sensorValue, sensorValue, 0x02, 0x03, sensorValue, sensorValue, 0x06, 0x07}; //sending potentiometer value to byte 0,1,4 and 5

byte sndStat = CAN0.sendMsgBuf(0xC9, 0, 8, data); //setting CAN ID to 201 // send data: ID = 0x201, Standard CAN Frame, Data length = 8 bytes, ‘data’ = array of data bytes to send

if (sndStat == CAN_OK)

{

Serial.println(“Message Sent Successfully!”);

}

else {

Serial.println(“Error Sending Message…”);

lcd.setCursor(0, 0);

lcd.print(“CAN ID: 201”);

lcd.setCursor(0, 1);

lcd.print(data [8]);

}

delay(100); // send data per 100ms

}