Guidance/ Issues with using defines in .ino for use in libraries

Hi all!

A little background of myself: I’m a junior test engineer and I do C# at work (it’s my first job and I’ve been doing it since half a year), but I have no real C/C++ experience, only things I have done so far is some basic arduino stuff. So please go easy on me, I’m coming here for guidance.

The last month(s) I have been busy writing a library that contains a variance of LED classes that I use within my projects. Mainly as a C++ exercise, but also because I find myself reprogramming blinking leds, fading leds, sparkling leds over and over again.

My targeted devices at the moment are the Arduino and the ESP8266.

Since I’m planning to share it with the community soon, I’m trying to make it in a way that it is implemented in a good way.

for those who are already interested, it’s on github:

UtiLEDy

This to provide a little background in what I want to do.

It is already functional, however, I struggle to implement something, which I don’t know how to call it, so I’ll try to explain it by example.

Let’s say I have a sketch “ledsketch.ino”.
In this sketch I want to use a Fader, which is a LED that fades in/out.
For this I include a header file: “fader.h”, in which the class ‘Fader’ is located. There is also a “fader.cpp” file.
The Fader is derived from a class ‘GammaLED’ which is a gamma- corrected LED.
So GammaLED is the base class for the Fader.
The “gammaLED.h” file is included in the header file of “fader.h” and also has a source file “gammaLED.cpp”.

Inside of “gammaLED.h”, I do something like:

// gammaLED.h //

#ifdef BRIGHTNESS_RESOLUTION_12BIT
 #define BRIGHTNESS_TYPE uint16_t 
 #define BRIGHTNESS_TYPE_MAX 4095
#elif defined BRIGHTNESS_RESOLUTION_10BIT
 #define BRIGHTNESS_TYPE_MAX 1023
#elif defined BRIGHTNESS_RESOLUTION_8BIT
 #define BRIGHTNESS_TYPE uint8_t 
 #define BRIGHTNESS_TYPE_MAX 255
#else // Default: 12bit
 #define BRIGHTNESS_TYPE_MAX 4095
#endif

#include "GammaTables.h"