Guidance on a large rc rover

Hi Everyone,
I'm new to arduino and large amounts of programing but the purpose of this project is to help me learn. I was wondering if someone would be willing to guide me with this project. I basically would like to be able to control a 2' by 3' robot with and arduino. Heres the control process I would like to use: Gamepad -> Computer -> Wifi -> Wifi Router -> Arduino ethernet shield -> Arduino -> Arduino motor controller -> 2 motors. Is this easily possible? I would like to use a game with 2 joysticks on the input controller.

Hope someone can help,
GeekGuy96

I am trying a similar task, although starting with a physically smaller robot, which makes little difference. I have been looking for software to run on a laptop computer to read one or more USB Joysticks, process the analog values and switches read from them, and generate motor commands to send over a serial link to an Arduino or other microcontroller. I am still looking. I think a nice package for someone to write is a simple driver station app, written preferably in C or C++ that can be compiled by a common compiler (gcc?) that will drive a robot in tank mode (differential drive on each side), and Ackerman (like) with servo controlling the steering angle of one or two wheels that pivot and drive speed on two fixed wheels. It should also be easy to modify the code on the robot to handle the same inputs but control a hexapod or other multilegged robot. I am not sure, but even a two legged, standing upright robot could probably use the same input stream to control speed and direction, but you would rapidly want to use additional inputs to control gate, stepping up or down, stance, and other anthropomorphic functions.

Basically, we need a laptop drive station app.