Guidance on pull down blind opening robot

Hi everyone,

I am completely new to robotics, but I am a software developer by trade, I came across this forum while searching for help on how to complete my project, but I still require some advice, as I can’t seem to find a project that has incorporated everything that I want to do.

I have some roman shade blinds like below, which are controlled by a string that is pulled down, then looped round a fixture in the wall to hold the blinds up in place at the top of the window.

I would like to build a small robot contained in the box which will sit on the windowsill, and pull the string down to open the window, kind of like a winch.

Here come the challenges.

I would like to control the robot from my smartphone, by using a slider UI component, so I can open the blinds from 0% of the way to 50% to 100% etc. Eventually I would like a light sensor, which would open and close them automatically, but that is for the future!

I’d like some advice on a few things.

1. Which motor would be the best to use for this task? I would need one strong enough to pull the string down and winch it around a spindle of sorts. The string requires no more than 2kg of force to pull down. I would also need the motor to “lock” in a way so that when I have the blind open, it is not using power to hold it in that position. Also if the motor can be near silent that would be a bonus, although once it’s enclosed in a container, any noise should be muffled.

2. What would be easiest in terms of connectivity? Bluetooth module, Wi-Fi module?
    I would not want the blind to rely on my computer being turned on to relay to commands to and from my phone. So ideally I’d like it to be a direct connection to my phone.

3. Would it be possible to connect this to the mains power, so that I would not need to rely on batteries?

4. Could the above be done with solely an Arduino? Or would be it be best to just use a Raspberry Pi? Or combine the two?