Guidance on tidying / efficiency

Hi All,

I am self taught and really struggle with efficient coding. I found this (code below) online (Becky Stern 2017 - great work btw!) and have adapted it heavily. It is for a weather forecast lamp I am making. The data feed (fed from Adafruit IO) via a weather feed from IFTTT comes in as various keywords into the Arduino, forecasting the weather for the day. The issue is, there are so many random weather keywords that come in (“AM Fog/ PM Sun”) etc that I am struggling to keep up with constantly adding new ones to the sketch as they come in. Sadly I can’t find a published list anywhere (from Weather Underground) so I will have to keep churning away, hopefully exhausting all UK based weather eventualities sooner or later!

Anyhow, How can I adapt the code to allow me just to insert strings as they come in into relevant sections (rain, cloudy, sunny, thunderstorms, etc)? If I get a vague variable “cloudy AM, storms PM”, I would like to slip that into the “clouds” definition without having to manually type out a new line and a new entry for every key wor that comes in.

I am sorry if this doesn’t make much sense, I am really tired, I’ve been messing around with this for hours but have to throw the towel in!

EDIT: it would be most helpful if I could simply stick the commands in to a section as they came in . For example…
Currently the code says: String rain = String(“Rain”);.
In my head, it would make sense if this worked: String rain = String(“Rain”, “Light Rain”, “Heavy Rain”, “Biblical Rain”, “JESUS CHRIST IT’S A MONSOON”, etc); Any string that came in would be inserted in the one line Rain definition. But sadly , I am doing something wrong and this doesn’t work.

// https://www.instructables.com/lesson/Circuit-Displays-Internet-Data/
// this function is called whenever a message
// is received from Adafruit IO.

void handleMessage(AdafruitIO_Data *data) {

clearpixels(); // reset all pixels to off when new info is received