Guidance request - combining code from two sketches for slow motion turnouts controlled from JMRI

I'm relatively new to the world of coding. I started out just cherry picking bits I wanted and tweaking minor things. I soon realised that there is a lot of info out there, which left me wallowing in information overload. Now I'm trying to work through the basics on a number of fronts.
Specifically I'm watching the Core Electronics Arduino Workshop on YouTube, reading through Arduino for Dummies and using the Sololearn app for structure practice.

So, enough about me. The problem I am currently having is this:

Rob at Little Wicket Railway has published two sketches parts of which I would like to combine (by the way, I have been in touch with Rob and he is happy for me to use/quote his sketches).
Specifically there is one script that drives turnouts with servos controlled from JMRI via CMRI
There is a second script that drives turnouts in slow motion using servos but activated by a pushbutton.
I have been attempting to get the slow motion action activated from JMRI. I naively thought it would just be a case of changing the input pin reference but that proved to be a bit optimistic.
I've been fiddling around for about a week now, so it's time to ask for help. If I wait until I've learnt enough I'll never get the railway built!

I have annotated the sketch with things I have tried (well, most of them. It took me a while to get into the habit of recording things as I did them).

Initially what I would like is some pointers on where I should concentrate my efforts and any specific guidance I should follow up. I'm definitely a person who learns by writing code rather than just reading other peoples work.

Here is the combined code as I have it at present. It compiles and uploads without issue but the servos persist in running at full speed.

// github.com/LittleWicketRailway/ServoControl/blob/master/Servos.ino