Guidance sought for choosing correct server

I still consider myself new to Arduino, and although I have been studying as much as I can about anything computer related on/off for nearly the last 5 or more years, I am not formally trained in anything which leaves for many gaps in my understanding of things.

I have in mind a project that is to control my indoor garden. I already mentally split my project into phases as I know each will be more difficult than the previous and I will need to learn more to continue the build as I go. I have a master sketch that does need more work, my project box is nearly complete and will be outfitted with an 8 channel relay, each connecting to a duplex outlet, and a DHT sensor to measure the air. Also have a DS3231 RTC (chronodot) to count time. Phase 1 of the project I am building consists of managing these AC outlets with either time or sensor values. I also want to get my project online to at least send the sensor data to my website (a PHP) that I created specifically for this project. My studies indicate that I “can” use a PHP for my Arduino project, but there is very little information of “how” to make it all happen. Of course, once online, my project will then require quite a few changes in code and circuitry as additional phases are built and grafted in. Ultimately, I am wanting my project to control each and every (nearly imaginable) electrical device that can be used in a garden setting. I have an EtherMega, plus also another Mega w/Ethernet shield, and I am looking to get into Udoo just to expand my understanding of how all of this back and forth communication over the internet works.