Guide to the Arduino software internals?

I'm looking to dive into learning about the guts of the Arduino software libraries and I was wondering if there's a good place to start. I know the public interface of the library very well. I've written lots of sketches and also a system for programming the Arduino in Ruby ( Ruby Arduino Development: GitHub - atduskgreg/rad: Ruby Arduino Development: a framework for programming the Arduino physcial computing platform using Ruby ). I'm an intermediate C programmer looking to become more advanced by learning about (and possibly contribute to) this exciting project.

Is there an overview of the Arduino software online anyway? Any blog posts or wiki pages I could start in? Also, what's the best place to follow ongoing development? I watch this forum and subscribe to the blog, but I haven't been able to find a mailing list or any other place to join the continuing development discussions. Am I missing something?

Thanks, in advance, for any tips. I'm lookinf forward to learning more about the Arduino software.

There's some information in the hacking section of the site. In particular the build process page explains how a sketch gets compiled and linked, which can be useful for understanding how Arduino code turns into C code (there's very little done, actually). Development is discussed on the developers mailing list; feel free to send ideas or suggestions to it.

Thanks, I'll take a look at those links. I've been diving into the Arduino code a bit and I bet with some of those tutorials -- and maybe a little help on this forum -- I'll be able to understand what's going on. I'll try to document what I learn for a future blog post or wiki entry for others as well.

Well, I've hit my first roadblock: understanding the use of the AVR_ENHANCED constant. I'm seeing it on line 332 of pgmspace.h

#if defined (__AVR_ENHANCED__)
#define __LPM(addr)         __LPM_enhanced__(addr)
#define __LPM_word(addr)    __LPM_word_enhanced__(addr)