Gunfire alert

Hi guys

Noob here.

I'd like to ask if anyone can point me in the right direction please.

I stay on a farm and we have terrible problems with poachers at night. I need some advice on setting up a gunfire recognition alert that will sms me if it picks up a gunshot. It doesn't have to triangulate or anything as I can setup the gsm sms alert to tell me which unit was activated. Many thanks. I'm not sure how to filter out other noises, but hopefully someone here will be able to assist.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

You'll always have a chance of false positives, especially when you don't know what kind of gun a poacher may use. Check the clapper setups like this one. http://www.instructables.com/id/Arduino-Clap-Sensitive-Light-Control-The-Clapper/

Depending on the size of your farm, you might need more than one sensor.

Thanks Shpaget

We have rangers, drones, scout helicopters etc but all useless if they are not in the area where the animals are poached. I understand that false alarms will always be an issue and thunder will also be picked up. Would like to get something that will notify us when it registers sound louder than 100decibels (maybe it can be adjustable)

Thanks again.

Assuming this sound distance calculator is correct http://hyperphysics.phy-astr.gsu.edu/hbase/acoustic/isprob2.html then your 100db threshold will require sensors at 200m intervals - that's a lot of sensors for a farm sized property.

Commercial sensors use digital filtering to detect distinctive sounds at much lower levels.

We have a few watering holes were the animals come to drink, what happens is that I only need gunfire detectors in that area, so it’s not a very big area…maybe 100m radius. There are guys walking up to the rhino’s, shooting them at near point blank. a few sensors in those areas will not break the bank.

We have rangers, drones, scout helicopters etc

What are you farming? White rhinos?