GUVA-S12SD UV sensor reading problem.

Hello everyone. I am new to this hobby. I know I should be posting in the sensor section, but for some reason the "new-post" bar is not showing on that forum. *if someone can help me re-direct it would be greatly appreciated

I am trying to make a UV sensor with the following equipment: - GUVA-S12SD uv sensor. - Maker Nano (almost a spitting image of the Arduino Nano) - half bread board

So far i am following this schematic:

[img alt=Arduino and GUVA-S12SD UV Sensor – Arduino Learning]https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/proxy/Nk9452rWYUp8vNbe9FeefG6pZKOqz7Pn9EKyMW8WUl5xx06Ol47zCjGg8rNgTCU2rlKDsuLo3GxWzXDdGJZGA8bNGkpE4u52ErsyKUPv9FWkemNvU4zLvzfjgPpM5B6ATh9u9hnz5fSTJQ[/img]

The code I am using is:

// the loop routine runs over and over again forever: void loop() { // read the input on analog pin 0: int sensorValue = analogRead(A0); // Convert the analog reading (which goes from 0 - 1023) to a voltage (0 - 5V): float voltage = sensorValue * (5.0 / 1023.0); // print out the value you read: Serial.print("voltage = "); Serial.print(voltage); Serial.print (" | "); Serial.print("UV index = "); Serial.println(voltage/.1);

When I run the script, it is showing voltage range of 1-3 volts indoors with no source of UV.

I had someone else test my Maker Nano board and the power output is coming out clean.

I tried another experiment where i pulled the UV sensor off, and the leads. The script is still showing a voltage range of 1-3 volts. Which is odd since there is no data being fed into the board. Is the voltage being read from the background voltage from the Arduino board?

Thanks for reading this post, and thank you again for your time.