guys i am new to the arduino world and need your help !

i tried to combine the blink led and fade led programs to use them via my pc keyboard commands and switch between them as i like . but when i try to exit a current ongoing function the program runs once before coming to the choice input ! please help

int led = 9;
int brightness = 0;
int fadeAmount = 5;
int choice;

void setup() {

Serial.begin(9600);       // starting Serial Communications with the board

pinMode(led, OUTPUT);      //setting pin 9 to output mode
  pinMode(13, OUTPUT);       // switching off the onboard led on pin 13 which is lit by default
  digitalWrite(13, LOW);     // switching off the onboard led on pin 13 which is lit by default

Serial.println("Welcome to LED Functions");
  Serial.println("");
  Serial.println("To Stop The Ongoing Function and To change your Choice Press 'X' ");
  Serial.println("");
  Serial.println("1 : Blinking Led");
  Serial.println("");
  Serial.println("2 : Fading Led");
  Serial.println("");
  Serial.println("3 : Manual ON/OFF");
  Serial.println("");

Serial.setTimeout(10);    /* changing the waiting period for serial data flow to 10 milliseconds.
                              this helps in parseInt() function in which by default serial
                               data flows after 1 second so there is a little lag in the serial monitor */
}

void blinkFunction() {      // function for led blinking

digitalWrite(led, HIGH);
delay(900);
digitalWrite(led, LOW);
delay(900);
}

void fadeFunction() {     //function for led fading

analogWrite(led, brightness);
  brightness = brightness + fadeAmount;
  if (brightness >= 255 || brightness <= 0) {
    fadeAmount = -fadeAmount;
  }
  delay(30);
}

void loop() {

Serial.println("Please Enter Your Choice");
  Serial.println("xxxxxxx");   // print statement to see how the control is moving while the program runs

while (Serial.available() == 0) {           // waiting for user to enter data
  }