h-bridges and motor shields?

I have a osepp motor shield version 1 (as shown here http://osepp.com/products/shield-arduino-compatible/motor-servo-shield/) but am really new to arduino and electronic tinkering entirely. I tried posting this question a few moths back and got no good answers that a total newbie could understand/utilize. I got frustrated and put the arduino stuff away for a while and am now ready to give it another shot. Could someone PLEASE explain it to me like I’m 5 years old and don’t know what anything is whatsoever? I want to control 4 dc motors and be able to use them bidirectionally. I have absolutely no idea how to use ANY shield as this is my first and only, I get that it plugs into the arduino uno but I don’t get it beyond that. If you have the motor shield I do (or if you look at the pictures) you’ll see the two green blocks with spots to attach wires, each block has 5 posts to plug wires into, and one side says M1 and M2 and the other M3 and M4. I’m guessing/assuming that M is for motor and it’s for motor 1-4 and I would understand it if there were 4 posts, M1+ M1- M2+ and M2- but I don’t know how h-bridges work or what to plug into those 5 slots. I also don’t understand what they go to on the arduino. Could someone PLEASE explain to me how to plug in the 4 DC motors and also give me/make a demonstration sketch with a lot of notes describing what each thing in the sketch does. I’m mainly confused on once the motors are plugged in, where do they go on the arduino? If I wanted to program DC motor 1 clockwise ,how would I do that? What in the sketch do I type, as in which arduino pin does it go to? Please help me and realize that I’m absolutely new to arduino/electronics and have only done some LED stuff so far.

Ok, lets take this stepwise.
There are two things you can control on a dc motor.

• Speed/Power, this is controlled by controlling the amount of electrical energy fed into the motor