Hacked Computer Speakers - Help

Hey all!

I’m a complete newbie when it comes to this kind of stuff so please pardon my ignorance.

I have a test setup here, it’s a bit of a mess I know, but it works.

The point of interest though is the speaker setup. I’ve hacked a set of PC speakers and I want to run them in my setup. As it is right now it works. I can generate tones to the speaker and it’s loud, and clear. My concern though, is if I did this right and if it will affect longevity? (IE: am I at risk to blow out components? The speakers' board says "9V*02A" so it's expecting 9V but this should only mean if I'm giving it 5V from the breadboard it will lower the volume? Also, the speaker is 4 Ohm 2W.

|500x375

I’m basically powering the pc speaker board via the breadboard. I’m trying to use the amplifier built into this (TDA2822M) to get the speaker to play louder.

I know I can hook up the speaker directly with a 220 Ohm resistor but it, obviously, cuts the sound down.

Again, pardon my ignorance but I don’t have the slightest clue if this is good or bad, and I’m err-ing on the side of caution and asking. Hopefully I can learn a little bit on why this is bad if it is, and why it will work if it will.

Thanks guys!

There is nothing good or bad about what you wrote. I just don't see anything relating to an Arduino in it.

If you want louder sound and your amplifier was designed to 9 volts, why aren't you powering it with 9 volts?

Paul

Paul_KD7HB: There is nothing good or bad about what you wrote. I just don't see anything relating to an Arduino in it.

If you want louder sound and your amplifier was designed to 9 volts, why aren't you powering it with 9 volts?

Paul

Apologies!

So, a 9V battery or something as power would work? The issue is the final product will need to be mobile, and won't have access to a fixed power source.

Viper_Airsoft: Apologies!