Hairless Midi <-> Serial Bridge.....NEED HELP ASAP :(

Hello everyone, :smiley_cat: .
I am relatively new to Arduino and am attempting to build a “MIDI theremin” with a ultrasonic sensor hc-sr04 for function inside of Ableton’s Live 10.

I previously built a MIDI controller using pots and the Arduino Max For Live device to map parameters within Live 10, which worked well.

(Using this tutorial, with slight self modifications):

Although now I am attempting to send raw MIDI signal without use of the Max For Live device using the ultrasonic sensor to play notes as the Arduino/Max device only allows mapping of parameters rather than note outputs.

I referenced this forum post for the ultrasonic sensor MIDI code:

I copied the code exactly

#include <MIDI.h>

float val = 0;
int lastVal = 0;

const int trigPin = 9;
const int echoPin = 10;

long duration;
int distance;

int sensorPin = 0;
int sensorValue = 0;

#define CC 0xB
#define CHANNEL_VOLUME 0x07

void setup()
{

pinMode (trigPin, OUTPUT);
pinMode (echoPin, INPUT);

Serial.begin(9600);       // Set the speed of the midi port to the same as we will be using in the Hairless Midi software
}

/* The format of the message to send via serial. We create a new data structure, that can store 3 bytes at once.  This will be easier to send as MIDI. */
typedef struct {
  unsigned int channel : 4;   // second nibble : midi channel (0-15) (channel and status are swapped, because Arduino is Little Endian)
  unsigned int status : 4;    // first  nibble : status message (NOTE_ON, NOTE_OFF or CC (control change)
  uint8_t data1;              // second byte   : first value (0-127), controller number or note number
  uint8_t data2;              // third  byte   : second value (0-127), controller value or velocity
}
t_midiMsg;          // We call this structure 't_midiMsg'

void MIDISend(uint8_t status, uint8_t channel, uint8_t data1, uint8_t data2) {
  t_midiMsg msg;
  msg.status = status & 0xF;