Hall Effect Sensor Homing

Hello everyone,

I hate to ask for help but here it goes…
I am fairly new with Arduino. I dedicate all of my free time to learning. However, my current project is giving me trouble.

So below is the code I have. I must have re-written it 50 times and decided it’s no longer practical to keep struggling on my own. With a lack of related information online, I am reaching out to you.

I am using a 28byj-48 stepper motor to spin a production line infeed wheel. I have mounted a small magnet on the underside of the wheel to enter the detection field of the hall sensor. The wheel is only 5" in diameter but needs to stop in a precise location. I have the sensor working correctly and the motor working correctly as individual circuits, but when I try and combine them in one code the sensor reading doesn’t change. I think the problem is somewhere in my setup (homing) section. I have tried multiple variations of “while” and “if” statements and this is the closest I can get. Any help would be extremely appreciated! Thanks

#include <Stepper.h>
const float STEPS_PER_REV = 32;
const float GEAR_RED = 64;
const float STEPS_PER_OUT_REV = STEPS_PER_REV * GEAR_RED;
int StepsRequired;
Stepper steppermotor(STEPS_PER_REV, 8, 10, 9, 11);
int hallSensorPin = 2; //1 off 0 on        
int sensorState = 0;

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
  pinMode(hallSensorPin, INPUT); //hall

sensorState = digitalRead(hallSensorPin);
   while (sensorState == HIGH) {
    Serial.print(sensorState);
  StepsRequired = 1;
  steppermotor.setSpeed(200);
  steppermotor.step(StepsRequired);
    }

StepsRequired = 0;
}

void loop() {
  StepsRequired = 256;
  steppermotor.setSpeed(300);
  delay(3000);
}

sensorState never change because you don't update it in loop().
Btw, for your system to be responsive, don't use delay(), use millis() to keep track of passed time.

sensorState = digitalRead(hallSensorPin);
  while (sensorState == HIGH)
  {
    StepsRequired = 1;