Hall effect speedo for newbie

Hi all I've had a look on other peoples projects and can't seem to find what I want ( I'm new to arduino stuff so may have overlooked stuff ) Right What I want to make is a arduino based speedometer that can display speed on x2 3" 7 segment displays (speed will not be over 99mph) using a hall effect sensor as a trigger and with a working voltage of 11-14vdc

My problem is I have never even picked up an arduino let alone know what parts I would need to make it all work as the 7 segment displays I have seen are 24vdc and the arduino I was looking at uses 5vdc.

If anyone can point me in the right direction or let me know if a kit exists I'd massively appreciate it.

Thanks in advance Kind regards Eddie

If 1 sensor and 1 magnet your problem will be inaccurate reads while changing speed especially when going slow.

It is best to not buy until you know what to buy for sure.

Hi yes I currently have a small bicycle computer reading speed which has a single magnet and reed switch, this below 12mph is useless but has not proved a problem as I only need to read between 15mph and 88mph. I figured a hall effect switch would be more reliable (not sure what cycle life the little reed switch has)

If I could fit a larger screen to the cycle computer I could live with it but would prefer to use a couple of 7segment displays to be in keeping with the rest of my test gear.

I just need a small amount of guidance to make sure this is feasible option and to what parts I would require

Kind regards Eddie

I used to spin, I drafted trucks. I built wheels with stainless steel spokes just so they wouldn't come apart at around 70mph like steel-spoke wheels have been known to do.

A cheap Hall Switch (not linear sensor) will give you quicker and cleaner response than a reed switch.