Hardware recommendations for newbie project

Hi all,

I am new to Arduino. Could you give me hardware recommendations for the following project:

As a hobby, I want to create a controller for my audio preamplifier with 4 digital (spdif) inputs, 6bit ladder volume control, auto power on, display and IR sensor.

See attached picture for a schematic overview of the required inputs and outputs.

Requirements:

• The Arduino should be operating when the preamplifier is one and when it is in standby/sleep mode, so preferably power consumption should be low.
  • It needs a total of 4 digital/binary inputs and 12 digital/binary outputs
  • On top of that I want a front panel display that can show the used input channel and volume, for example “ch1 -34dB”, so preferably 9 digits or so. It should preferably have color text (orange or red or so) on a black background. One line of text is sufficient.
  • Next to or integrated into the display I want an IR sensor that can be use to control the pre-amplifier with a remote control (input channel, volume control etc.). No mechanical controls (knops) are needed, IR control only.

Questions:

• Which Arduino board should I use to match with these requirements (4 digital inputs, 12 digital outputs, display, IR sensor and preferably low power)?
  • What hardware do you recommend for the display and the IR sensor?
  • Should I use a separate IR decoding IC or can Arduino cope well with that?/li]

Input/suggestions will be appreciated!

I am new to Arduino.

This is not a newcomers project in any way. In fact I doubt if it is possible at all using an Arduino.

I want to create a controller for my audio preamplifier with 4 digital (spdif) inputs

I doubt if it can run to one let alone four.

Grumpy_Mike:
This is not a newcomers project in any way. In fact I doubt if it is possible at all using an Arduino.
I doubt if it can run to one let alone four.

Hi Grumpy_Mike,