Hardware selection

Hi,

I am very familiar with the PLC world but this is my first project with Arduino products and I am a bit confused for hardware selection and compatibility. I have already identified that I need the Mega 2560 to get enough I/O. But then what?

My inputs should be at 24 Vdc and some outputs to be at 24 Vdc and 120 Vac. What are the I/O boards available?

I also want to command my project using my Iphone 6 as a Human Machine Interface so what shield do I need to get a Wi-Fi channel?

Finally, the controler should be housed into a box and used outside.

Is there somebody to help me with the selection of the hardware for such an application.

Hi,
Arduino is used in many industrial environments, and you need to do some research to handle the specific I/O devices you are involved with.

I suggest you look at THIS: section of ArduinoInfo.Info to see options about controlling power and higher voltages with Arduino.

There are some options for sensing voltages greater than 5V, but if it's on-off sensing, I am all for opto-isolation.

Hundreds of sensors such as temperature, humidity, acceleration, compass, gas sensors etc etc. are available for Arduino.

The physical environment and Nema enclosures are another challenge for you!

If you want several I/O connections shields may be too restrictive either by preventing access to certain I/O pins or by utilizing pins that you might want for something else. Some tasks (such as SPI) are restricted to certain pins.

For WiFi have a look at the cheap ESP8266 module.

...R

Thank guys for these answer but it is still not clear enough to place a purchase order.

If I use the 8-relay optically-isolated board, where I should connect it on the MEGA 2560? Then, do I still have space for remaining DIN (8) and AIN (4) I need?

The ESP8266 seems to be interesting but again, may I plug it directly on the MEGA 2560 without interfering the I/O numbers?