Hardware to build a rather advanced fan controller

Hello!

I was hoping to get some help building a rather advanced fan controller for an acoustics project. This controller will set the speed for 4 different fans (independant speed control) by sending a PWM signal at 90 Hz to the fans (each fan has an internal controller that controls the speed base on duty cycle). this means i will have to mess with the timers (something I have never done before) by using the pwm frequency library.

The controller also needs to communicate with a CAN chip as the fan speed values will be sent to the controller through a CAN bus. This CAN controller will communicate with other Microcontrollers through SPI.

In addition to this the controller will feature 4 encoders and a small OLED display in case the users prefers to manually control the fans.

The problem is I don´t know that hardware setup to use. I would prefer to stay with an arduino mega and/or multiple arduino UNOs to ensure compatibility with the pwm frequency library. My concerns are that there might not be enough ports and timers for one UNO to handle all of this, and I wonder if the best setup would be to get a mega or to use one arduino UNO for the encoders, display and CAN and have another UNO just handling the PWM output while recieving the values from the first UNO over I2C.

Any advise would be greatly appreciated!

90Hz is quite slow for an MCU. At the most basic, you could easily create your own PWM in the loop() for all 4 fans without using a timer. For example, 5.5 mS on and 5.5 mS off is a duty cycle of 50% at (approx.) 90Hz.
I'd consider though using a single timer say running at 900Hz (or more depending on the required control granularity) and manage the on/off periods for the individual fans in the timer interrupt service routine (ISR) to achieve the necessary duty cycle.