Have Arduino poll a real web server for commands?

G'day peeps,

I'm brand new to Arduino, but know enough about electronics to be dangerous and I write software for a living.

Like many people, I want to control circuits via the web. I've seen examples and posts about running a web server on an Arduino, but I want to use a different approach: have the Arduino regularly request commands from a real web server. This sidesteps security barriers (ISPs won't block ports, etc.) and it means I can use a web technology to make the client side work, instead of crude C++ code.

This doesn't seem like a hard thing to do, but I have a strong feeling I'm reinventing the wheel, despite my web searching for other people's ideas. Does anybody have any links to similar projects? Are there standard libraries for basing digital/analogue output control on text strings? Any basic protocols to recommend? (I've seen hari's nice, clean URL-based code, but it's not really applicable in this case.) Am I really being cutting edge here?!

My hardware, BTW, is an EtherTen from Freetronics, which is basically a Uno with an ethernet shield built in. I'm impressed with it so far.

Cheers, MikZ.

but I want to use a different approach: have the Arduino regularly request commands from a real web server.

Typically the client code sends a GET request to a server running some type of CGI application. The server starts the application and supplys the data contained in the query_string to the application for the application to use. Very common, but I don't have any client test code that acts upon some event to send the request. There are code examples posted for using with variuos types of servers.

Have you looked at https://pachube.com/ yet?

I can use a web technology to make the client side work, instead of crude C++ code.

Excuse me? You mean that you want to use capabilities that are based on C++, instead of learning C++ yourself?