Have you ever interfaced a D6T thermal sensor with a uC?

Dear all Programming Guru’s:
I am a final year undergraduate student from a University in South Africa. In order to complete my degree, I have one final project to complete – I need to create a system that counts the number of people in a test area, and the information thereof will be used as an input to a light dimmer for the test area.
I have elected to use a D6T thermal sensor to detect human presence, and the thermal information gathered will be used as an input to a Neural Network.
Now that you have some background info of the design task, I will present the problem I am currently facing: I can’t get the sensor to work, and I have no idea why.
Also, I should mention that I am part of a class of 255 students, and we were each randomly assigned a project, and no two projects are similar. So the project is not to “get the sensor working”, the scope is much bigger than that. Thus, if you are able to assist me with my current problem – don’t think that you are helping me cheat, or anything like that. Our study leaders have encouraged us to reach out to experienced professionals (such as yourselves) to ask for mentorship.
The other major problem is that I am extremely inexperienced when it comes to programming, as my discipline of study is “Electrical Engineering”. I did one small module on C programming, back in 2012 and I barely passed the module. So please be gentle with me – I am likely to make mistakes. This is my first attempt at programming an I2C device.
Right, now that THAT disclaimer is out of the way; now onto the problem at hand.