Having issues with Fingerprint Scanner, perhaps in my coding?

I am having issues with my fingerprint scanner. I am relatively new to Arduino and coding in general, and have been searching for an answer the past couple of days to see if anyone else had the issue and resolution. I am currently using a fingerprint scanner to move a stepper motor, and it seems to work to my liking. However, I have been trying to enroll multiple fingers and I have gotten that to work as well. The working fingers are thumb, pointer finger, and middle finger. Somehow, I am unable to get my ring finger or pinky to register to the FPS. It gives me the “Unable to capture first finger” during the enrollment process. While my code may seem iffy to you, I only combined the enrollment and verification process into one code, and used enrollment to be a one time thing on launch. Is there somewhere in my code that I did wrong to make me unable to use those two fingers? Or is it just a problem with the scanner that I overlooked? Again my code may seem whacky and I am up to make any changes to it as I am quite new to this, so please bare with me! :slight_smile:

The Fingerprint Scanner: https://www.sparkfun.com/products/11792

The Fingerprint Scanner Library: http://wordpress.hawleyhosting.com/ramblings/?p=375

#include <FPS_GT511C3.h>
#include <SoftwareSerial.h>
#include <Stepper.h>
uint8_t getFingerprintEnroll(uint8_t id);

FPS_GT511C3 fps(4, 5);
Stepper myStepper(255, 9, 10, 11, 12);
int inPin1 = 9;
int inPin2 = 10;
int inPin3 = 11;
int inPin4 = 12;

void setup()  
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
  myStepper.setSpeed(20);
  delay(100);
  fps.Open();
  fps.SetLED(true);
  Enroll();
}

void Enroll(){
	// Enroll test will repeat just once each time Reset button is pressed

// find open enroll id, will repeat process each time Reset button is pressed
	int enrollid = 0;
	bool okid = true;
	while (okid == true)
	{
		okid = fps.CheckEnrolled(enrollid);
		if (okid==true) enrollid++;
	}
	fps.EnrollStart(enrollid);