Having some serious trouble

I'm still new to programming, so try to hang in there with me. I'm trying to learn how to use and call functions properly as well.

In my code, I'm trying to input a number using the getanwer() function and then print it to the serial moniter.

Here is my code:

void setup() { Serial.begin(9600); }

void loop() { long length=getanswer(0); Serial.print(length); }

long getanswer(int totallength) { if(Serial.available()) { int number; char ch=Serial.read(); if(isDigit(ch)) { number=(number*10)+(ch-48); } else if(ch==10) { totallength=number; return totallength; } } }

Every time I run this program, it does not let me enter any value or anything and it gives me just a continous set of numbers that I did not enter.

I need help :astonished: :roll_eyes: :cold_sweat: :

Hi and welcome.

Your sketch is not waiting for any characters to be received. If no characters are available it just keeps printing a random number, because it gets to the end of your getanswer() function without executing a return command. Even if there is a character to receive, it does not wait for the remaining characters to complete the number typed. There are quite a few other errors also, but lets take them one at a time. Have a look at while().

Also forum etiquette is that when you post a sketch here, you should always use code tags (the # button). It prevents long sketches from filling the screen, and stops certain character sequences used in sketches from getting turned into smileys! Code tags do this:

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop()
{
  long length=getanswer(0);
  Serial.print(length); 
}

long getanswer(int totallength)
{
  if(Serial.available())
  {
    int number;
    char ch=Serial.read();
    if(isDigit(ch))
    {     
      number=(number*10)+(ch-48);
    }
    else if(ch==10)
    {
      totallength=number;
      return totallength;
    }
  }
}

Paul

long getanswer(int totallength)
{
  if(Serial.available())
  {
    int number;