Having trouble alternating two outputs per single input

Hello, I am new to all of this but addicted already. I have a project with a model vehicle with a rechargeable battery and a 24 volt motor .It rides a line track and when it reaches the end it receives a charge from a bus for thirty seconds via an external circuit and proximity switches and reverses motor polarity and at the other end it repeats. I have achieved this with relay logic but now I believe the UNO can do this via h-bridge for the polarity change but the problem Im having is the H-bridge has two inputs one for forward and one for reverse.Each time it "sees" the charge bus with a single input, I need to alternate two inputs individually and hold . How would one input trigger an output the first time and hold for forward and then that same input on the other end of the track with a charge bus trigger another output state only and repeat so that the motor reverses polarity and so on? I have tried to word this in my searches before posting as to not waste anybody's time but I keep getting unsatisfactory results. Like alternating leds per input for example. Thank you in advanced if you have the time Im stuck and again a complete novice.

If the H bridge inputs are compatible with the Uno outputs, and if the input to the Uno is compatible with the signals at the ends of the line, then this is easy to do.

What code do you have so far?

If you want code written for you, try in Gigs and Collaborations and bring your wallet.

Welcome.
"addicted " Yes it sounds like you have the disease.
Personally I think hearing relays click is more soothing :wink:

Each time it "sees" the charge bus with a single input, I need to alternate two inputs individually and hold . How would one input trigger an output the first time and hold for forward and then that same input on the other end of the track with a charge bus trigger another output state only and repeat so that the motor reverses polarity and so on?