Having trouble dislaying images correctly on Processing.

So I've set up a simple program using an arduino, a photocell and Processing. Basically it detects if when there's no light and shows the information on a simple display. Processing uses the info from the serial monitor. If there is no light it shows one image (PLAN1). When it detects a certain level of light it shows another image (PLAN2). This is all it is going to do. I'm pretty new to this so had to look through the basics of processing for a while but I got it to work, just not properly. At the moment it shows PLAN2 ok. But when I cove the photocell it shows PLAN1 but it overlays it. This is because I had to use the tint() function to get it to work. I just want it to switch between images without having to use tint. I said I'd ask in a forum seeing as I couldn't find any info online. Any help at all would be greatly appreciated.

Here's the code for Processing:

import processing.serial.*;
Serial myPort;
String sensorReading="";

PImage img;
PImage img2;
//PImage bg;

void setup() {
size(1300, 1000);

String portName = Serial.list()[0];

img = loadImage("PLAN1.png");
img2 = loadImage("PLAN2.png");

// bg = loadImage("PLAN2.png");

myPort = new Serial(this, portName, 9600);
//myPort.bufferUntil('1');

}

void draw() {

//image(img, 0, 0);
//The serialEvent controls the display
}

void serialEvent (Serial myPort) {
sensorReading = myPort.readStringUntil('1');

if (sensorReading != null) {
noTint(); image(img, 0, 0);
}

else { tint(255,100); image(img2, 0, 0) ;

}

}

The image display should occur in the draw() function. The decision as to which image to display (in draw) should be based on a value that is set in the serialEvent callback.