having trouble getting lcd to display right values

hello I am very new to coding but have a background in electronics. I want to learn so I started by getting an RGB led to light up and be able to control each channel. Then I learned how to read the voltage using a pot, then I got an lcd to work. Now I want to combine all of them and I have the RGB values displayed on a 0-255 scale. Since I only have a two line display I only was trying to display two of the values for now while I wait on another bigger LED display to arrive. I copyed and pasted most of my code from other examples and tutorials so I am sure that my problem lies some where within it.
Here is my code and all the connections to the lcd are
Pin K- Ground
PinA-D 5V
PinD7-D5
PinD6-D4
PinD5-D3
PinD4-D2
and I think all the other pins are listed in the code.
Using the LCD that came with the Arduino Uno and a 1Kpot
You can see in the pictures that I am getting some kind of measurement on the LCD and the led works but not what I am looking for as far as values and whats supposed to be on the screen vs my code.

Let me know what I am doing wrong. I want to learn.
Thank you

/*
* Code for making one potentiometer control 3 LEDs, red, grn and blu, or one tri-color LED
* The program cross-fades from red to grn, grn to blu, and blu to red
* Clay Shirky <clay.shirky@nyu.edu> 
*/

#include <LiquidCrystal.h>

LiquidCrystal lcd(7,8,2,3,4,5);

int potPin = 3; // Potentiometer output connected to analog pin 3
int potVal = 0; // Variable to store the input from the potentiometer

// LED's cathodes should be connected to digital GND
int redPin = 9;   
int grnPin = 10;  
int bluPin = 11;  

// Program variables
int redVal = 0;   // Variables to store the values to send to the pins
int grnVal = 0;
int bluVal = 0;

void setup()
{
  lcd.begin(16, 2);
lcd.clear();
pinMode(potPin, INPUT);
  pinMode(redPin, OUTPUT);   // sets the pins as output
  pinMode(grnPin, OUTPUT);   
  pinMode(bluPin, OUTPUT); 
}

// Main program