Having trouble with millis()

I am having trouble getting millis() to co-operate... I am new to arduino but have worked through the basic blinking lights and such... I am having trouble with the following:

boolean stageTempReached = false; //has the temp been reached for this stage, starts out as no boolean timer = false; //is the timer running because the temp has been reached? byte Stage = 1;

void setup() { Serial.begin(9600); //start serial communications for test purposes

}

void loop() { clockCheck (10); delay (1000); }

void clockCheck (int minHold) //Subroutine that checks time since the correct temp was reached //and changes to the next stage if needed { unsigned long timeStart;

if ((stageTempReached == true) && (timer == false)) {(timeStart = millis()); (timer = true);}

//if (millis() >= (timeStart + (minHold * 60000))) {(Stage = (Stage + 1)); //(timer = false); //(stageTempReached = false);} Serial.println(timeStart); Serial.println(millis());

}

when the serial.prints come out, they don't match. The first will be like 513954200 and the second will actually be the number of milliseconds since program start. If I comment out the first if statement, things work out great. What is it about my if statement that makes my arduino make up giant numbers?

Thanks for any help

timeStart needs to be a global to persist from run to run of clockCheck. It is currently declared inside clockCheck, so it’s local to clockCheck (and therefore contains uninitialized garbage sometimes).

Move the declaration of timeStart above the start of the clockCheck function to make it global and see if that helps with your problem.

-br

and init it to 0!

Mark

Tried both options with and without setting to 0 in global, now it reads 0 each time on the first serial.print and the correct milliseconds for the second number

Would you post the updated code, and include it inside code tags?

The little "#" button above the smilies above the edit window will add code tags for you.

-br