Having trouble with this

So I compile and upload just fine and code runs and everything work except the button I added, need some help with why the button wont work to take readings when I press it. Like I said the code continues to run and components work but I dont want them to until I press the button. Can someone take a look at my code please? Sorry for the posting, this is my first time posting for help.

MushBox_LCD.ino (3.18 KB)

So you want it to wait till there's a button-push where it will proceed with the DHT?

Hum

if (buttonState = HIGH) {

Hum Hum

if (19 >= t <= 27)

runaway_pancake:
So you want it to wait till there's a button-push where it will proceed with the DHT?

Yes, I do. I am constantly playing and fine tuning the code. I'm new to this, coming from python! but yes im trying to achieve readings on press of a button. Don't worry about the numbers Im using to tune and get readings, Im playing with another device to find the good range on these sensors until my DHT22's arrive.

Why are you writing an output to DHTPIN? It is an input and not an output and I think you are supposed to let the library control that pin.

Look closer at what larryd pointed out.

if (19 >= t <= 27)

I’m certain this is not what you want.

ToddL1962:
Look closer at what larryd pointed out.

if (19 >= t <= 27)

I'm certain this is not what you want.

I had the temp right that was a temporary change before I uploaded. That’s been changed back, yes 19 needs to be less than my temps. the button state is confusing me, I learn the button firstly from those cheap Chinese kits with typos, just discovered the online tuts. THEY are different by far. So I am not getting this new button setup I’m using. wired up like so https://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/Button.

No

Yes
if (buttonState == HIGH) {

No
if (19 >= t <= 27)

Yes
if ( t >= 19 && t <= 27)

larryd:
No

Yes
if (buttonState == HIGH) {

No
if (19 >= t <= 27)

Yes
if ( t >= 19 && t <= 27)