HC-SR04 trigger and echo

I’m new to arduino (infact opened box and started playing about 10minutes ago) and have an HC-SR04 setup and measuring the distance across my desk right now. However I want to play a little more and experiment. Is there anything in the electronics on the HC-SR04 that dictates, that the ping has to come from the same module as the echo is recieved. Or could I buy a second HC-SR04 and use that to send the ping, and then recieve on the original HC-SR04.

I.e. wire both up then use the trig on one unit, and the echo on the other?? Would it work?

You can do that, but you'd have to remove the transmitter transducer from the end that you wanted to be receive-only, to ensure you don't confuse returns.

Some of the Devantech devices (of which I suspect the HC-SR04 is a clone) allow you receive only.

Excuse my ignorance, but if the trig pin on the recieve unit is not connected, would you still need to remove the transducer??

i.e. use the trig pin on one unit, and the echo pin on another unit.

You may be in trouble.. How do you know when to start timing?

knut_ny: You may be in trouble.. How do you know when to start timing?

Same as when you have them both in the same module. When you send the ping from the first module, you wait for it on a different pin?? Am I missing something??

but if the trig pin on the recieve unit is not connected,

How are you going to trigger it to make it listen?

AWOL:

but if the trig pin on the recieve unit is not connected,

How are you going to trigger it to make it listen?

Thats what I was asking. So you need to wake the ultrasonic sensor up to listen, it isn't the arduino that knows to listen on a set pin??

The trigger pulse on the trigger pin causes the controller on the unit to first transmit the eight cycle transmit pulses, then raise the echo pin. The amplified received echo then causes the controller to lower the echo pin.