HC05 Bluetooth receiving but not sending

This is my first attempt at using Bluetooth. I've got it all wired up and I am using SoftwareSerial to use Serial2, and I'm using one of several Bluetooth terminal apps on my Android phone to test with. This is just a test program based on several of the examples I've seen out there. Note that I originally wired up the KEY and STATE pins to a digital output and input respectively, but very few of the examples I've seen use them, so I'm ignoring them for now and unhooked them (my FC-114 board actually says EN not KEY).

What I'm seeing (after fixing several other mistakes) is the BT is connecting, and I see the text on my phone being sent by the Arduino program, but when I send characters from my phone to the board over Bluetooth, the program never sees them.

Here is the essence of my program:

// Bluetooth on Serial 2
#define LBPIN_BTH_TX 16
#define LBPIN_BTH_RX 17
#define LBPIN_BTH_KEY 32
#define LBPIN_BTH_STATE 33
SoftwareSerial BluetoothHC05(LBPIN_BTH_RX, LBPIN_BTH_TX);
void setup() {
  BluetoothHC05.begin(9600);
  while(! BluetoothHC05) {
    Serial.println("Waiting for connect");
    delay(1000);
  }
  Serial.println("Connected");

BluetoothHC05.println("Send 1 to turn on the LED. Send 0 to turn Off");
  //pinMode(LBPIN_BTH_TX, OUTPUT);
  //pinMode(LBPIN_BTH_RX, INPUT);
}
void loop() {
  Serial.println("Waiting");
  while (BluetoothHC05.available() == 0) {
    Serial.println(">");
    BluetoothHC05.println(">");
    delay(1000);
  }
  Serial.println("Got key");
  BluetoothHC05.println("Got key");
  Data = BluetoothHC05.read();
  if (Data == '1') {
    Serial.println("Got 1");
    BluetoothHC05.println("Got 1");
  }
  else if (Data == '0') {
    Serial.println("Got 0");
    BluetoothHC05.println("Got 0");
  }
  else {
    Serial.println("Unknown character");
  }
}

When I run this, on the Serial Monitor I see
Connected
Waiting