Headphone detection and output selector circuit. Yay or Nay? diagram included

I’m working on an external circuit to add to my arduino synth. The circuit’s designed to play audio from a L and R channel through a built in speaker by default, but upon detecting a headphone jack, it stops playing through the speaker and indicates that it’s playing though the audio jack instead. I have a two pairs of LED indicators to indicate whether L or R is playing internally or externally. e.g. Red indicators for the speaker, and Blue indicators for the line out.
For the line out, I also added a switch to swap between mono and stereo and a pot to control the volume.

This is my first attempt at designing any kind of circuit, only found out what transistors look like a few hours ago. I’m unsure whether the logic is right, so I’m posting a diagram of the circuit so you can tell me if I should go ahead or go back to the drawing board! :slight_smile:

I’m particularly concerned about whether my pot’s in the right place and whether it will interfere with the transistor next to it.

Here it is:

There are female audio jacks that works like a switch, so you don't need to use that

I'm pretty sure that's how I have it set up. I'm intercepting the 'ground' coming back from the headphones and treating it like a HIGH value. Then it's sent through the transistor and +5v to invert the value and turn off the speaker output. e.g. HIGH on audio jack converted to a LOW value sent to the other two transistors.

I didn't know any specific symbol for the female audio jack, so I just drew it as two switches, if that's confusing you!

If you're talking about a fancy female jack, I don't have one. It would take away from the challenge anyway! :)

OK, lot's to cover here:

• Please keep images less than 1000 pixels wide. The forum makes these poster-size attachments really hard to look at.

• What's L and R "data"? What does the signal look like? PWM from +5v to 0v? AC from +0.7v to -0.7v?