Hello... and I messed up! Help, anyone?

Hi all,
I recently bought and Arduino, and I’ve been having a little remedial fun so far. I’m actually an artist by trade, but my dear old Dad was an electrical engineer, and I’ve always had an interest in such things (entirely opposite to painting pictures, which is what I do for my ‘day job’!). I’ve always felt that there is every bit as much art and grace in electronics as there is in any picture you might paint. There’s a simple beauty to electronics and engineering which has always appealed to me… anyway, I digress, but great to be here!

The whole Aduino thing has fascinated me since it arrived, and I’ve signed up for a few online courses/classes.

Here’s the deal… I saw an LED cube, and wanted to make one!
I got straight onto Ebay and ordered 500 RGB LED’s! (I’ve always been a little overenthusiastic!). The LED’s arrived today, and I now discover the are Common Cathode RGB LED’s!
Here’s the question… is there anything I can use these for, as in something decorative like the cube I intended making… or are they useless to me? help please… tell me straight?

I’ve actually just finished constructing a 5x5x5 single colour LED cube ( at least constructing it physically), and will be playing with tat using the arduiono and Shift Registers… I know… too ambitious, but I’m really enjoying learning, and I’m currently experimenting with Shift Registers via Youtube tutorials.

So… these CC RGB LED’s… any projects I can sensibly use them for? A nice LED matrix, maybe?
Am I just being too enthusiastic too soon?

Help? And thanks for let me bend your ear.
Best to all,
Tim.

Lookup how to use a P channel MOSFET as a digital switch (high side switch).

I've always felt that there is every bit as much art and grace in electronics as there is in any picture you might paint.

Until you let the magic smoke out. No grace at THAT point...

I got straight onto Ebay and ordered 500 RGB LED's! (I've always been a little overenthusiastic!).