Hello and tips please

Hi all,

I’m new to all this electronic stuff and over the last week have bought a starter kit from RS.
I’m an engineer working with CNC controls and like to programme most of the machines in Macro programming so I have a little experience with variables and different statements, so although the code is different, there is a similarity in the thought process.

I’ve been working through a few tutorials to get familiar with the UNO.

I completed the P09_motorized_pinwheel example and continued to try to modify it.

I’ve moved on from just a button to start and stop the motor. I now have a potentiometer to set a run time, a start button to begin the cycle and a stop button to break the cycle. All with an LCD screen to display the status.

All this has been a big learning curve and has taken me several hours in development, research and debugging. I kept finding scenarios where I would get an undesirable result. For example, I found if the motor was running & I pressed the start button again, it would reset the timer. A simple IF this AND IF this sorted that one.

I struggled quite a bit with the millis calculations. My head just couldn’t quite grasp with the way it was explained. I finally broke it down into, "get a start time ONCE where it wouldn’t be read again (in the start button pressed IF), get a NOW time just before the calculation that was always read while the code was running. Then the calculation was simple, time now - start time = elapsed time, if that >= timer then we’ve done.

I’m really pleased with the outcome and everything appears to work as expected. If anybody would look through my code and give me any pointers on the layout or if I’ve over complicated things it would be appreciated. If I’m doing it wrong I would like to know sooner rather than later before getting run away with bad habits.

so hopefully I’ve attached the code correctly before hitting post!!!
apologies if not.

Thanks in advance
JP