Hello World LCD

I am very new to Arduino and excited to make some things work. I am working on the Hello World tutorial and have reached a block .I have everything wired up according to the tutorial. I have checked it several times. I have the LED backlight working but I can't get a message to come to the LCD. When I plug the Arduino Uno into my computer via USB, all I get is a row of sixteen blocks on the top row of the LCD. I tried adjusting the 10k pot and I can make the blocks go away and return. I tried running the sketch and there is no change. I have pressed the reset button, reloaded the sketch, unplugged and replugged the USB cable and still no change. I am sure this is something stupid that I am doing, but I can't find it. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Hi, welcome to the forum.

To get a display working for the first time can be hard. The first row with blocks could be an initialization problem, perhaps with wrong wiring. It is possible that the display is broken, but I assume that some wires are wrong, just as it was for me when I tried to make a display work.

It would help us a lot when you give more information. For example: which Arduino board are you using, which Arduino IDE version, which display, do you have a schematic, can you make a photo so we can check the wiring ?

You can copy a link in a post. You can attach files with the "Additional Options...", it is below the text input field on the left.

Do you use this example ? http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/LiquidCrystal Did you use that example, or did you make a change to it ? Can you check the wiring once more ? Do you use Arduino IDE 1.0.6 ?

The fact that your backlight works and that you can adjust the contrast means that you have the five power pins connected properly and that your display is most likely to be functional (not defective).

Assuming that you have been successful loading other sketches into your Arduino this would suggest a problem with your wiring.