Help- 2 digit combo lock

Hey guys, this is my first post ever.

I acquired some neat rotary thumbwheel switches, made by the digitran company. I want to use them to make a lock box with a combination lock. The switch has two rotary dials with 12 positions each. I'd also like to be able to change the combination. What would be the best way to handle to build this circuit without requiring 24 input pins into my arduino?

I've read a little bit about shift registers, and it seems like that could be a useful solution, but as a total novice I'm not exactly clear on how to implement them. Anyone know of a simple beginner level guide for this?

any model numbers or other info to ID the switches?

A bitwise switch (or call them as you will) would have fewer pins than positions, and serves data as a binary. I forget the other type of switch's name, but it's like a potentiometer, but has one pin per position, plus a common. IE, it's an analog switch.

Bitwise/digital:

position1 = 0001 position2 = 0010 position3 = 0011 position4 = 0100 position5 = 0101 position6 = 0110 position7 = 0111 position8 = 1000 position9 = 1001 position10 = 1010 position11 = 1011 position12 = 1100

analog:

position1 = pin1 position2 = pin2 position3 = pin3 position4 = pin4 position5 = pin5 position6 = pin6 position7 = pin7 position8 = pin8 position9 = pin9 position10 = pin10 position11 = pin11 position12 = pin12

If they say 24 pins, then it sounds like there is no binary encoding going on.

This is what I did for a 12 position rotary switch for my Arduino radion, if its any help.

http://srmonk.blogspot.com/2011/09/arduino-solar-radio.html

Scroll down for the schematic. Basically a resistor between each pin making a kind of linear pot, as KeitaruSM says.

Scroll down a bit further for the sketch to convert the analog reading into a number between 1 and 12.

magnethead794: any model numbers or other info to ID the switches?