[Help] 25 kHz PWM Circuit controlled by Arduino

Soo, This is my first project that isn't just connecting a module to an Arduino... And I feel like I need some help understanding things and better ways of doing things.

The main objective is to create a PC fan controller for my watercooled PC, Needs to work for 60 seconds before the PC turns on and 3 minutes after it shuts down.

Well this circuit was my starting point: (Grabbed from here)

556 Timer IC
Capacitors: C1 = 680pF; C2 = 0.01 μF; C3 = 0.1 μF; C4 = 10 μF, polarized.
Resistors: R1 = 1k; R2 = 10K
Potentiometers: P1 = 100k
Diodes: D1 & D2 = 1N4148

But rather than using a normal potentiometer I would use a digi pot (Like this one) so that I can control the duty cycle via Arduino.

Does anyone see anything wrong with this? Would the output actually be 25kHz? Is there a better way of doing all this?

Thanks for any and all help!

Well that circuit isn't going to work as the discharge terminal isn't connected, and when it is
it could burn itself and the pot out as there is no protection when the pot is at the end point
as nothing exists to limit the current but a schottky diode.

Also only a single 555 is needed to do this.

If you are going to add an Arduino, it can already do PWM very capably, no need for external
hardware, just program one of the timers.

[ Actually, I looked again and I misunderstood the circuit - it is using both timers in a complicated
way which uses output in place of discharge. Perhaps this allows a greater range of duty cycle,
anyway, just use an Arduino timer, much simpler.

You're right about the circuit being more complex to get the wider range of duty cycle.

The trouble with just using the Arduino is that I'd have to mess with some registers to get it close to the 25kHz and there are only a few timers to use, I'd need more than an Arduino has.

Another idea i had was to use an attiny85 or whatever it is to control the pwm and it can talk to the main Arduino.