Help a Student! Arduino Uno to run both a Stepper and a DC

Hi there!

This is my first post in this forum, and it's a needed one. I'm totally new to electronics, but due to being challanged with a chapter in my education, i find myself wrestling the beasts of arduino.

What i want to do is:

Making a Steppermotor control a little "carridge" on a rail. On this "carridge" i want to have a little dc motor(for weight reasons). The dc motor is supposed to make a rope (with a magnet on the end of it) go up and down.

Following this schematic: http://www.azega.com/controlling-a-stepper-motor-with-an-arduino/ i've actually got the stepper-motor to run, but it's really slow. I can't really figure out why. The motor i'm using is a Sanyo Denki 103H7121-0144. I first thought it was something with the power, so i plugged the power into "Vin" and plugged a 12V 1A AC/DC into the arduino port. Sure, the difference is noticeable soundwise, but it still can't go faster even though we change the code. Is there some other way of bringing power in or am i just missing something?

The dc motor is hard. We know it can go in both directions by switting the pos/neg, but we don't know how to control it on the board. Everywhere online that i look, i keep hearing about shields but I don't really know what shields do and here in Stockholm, Sweden, it seems you can't buy a ready made Motor Shield.

I need sooo much help. I think you guys are awesome so i trust you to guide me in the right direction.

I also want to control this with a joystick, where the stepper is the X-axis and the dc is the Y-axis, but don't worry about that for now. I think i can figure it out by myself.

i've actually got the stepper-motor to run, but it's really slow.

The speed of a stepping motor is governed by software, want it to run faster change the software.

but it still can't go faster even though we change the code.