HELP-Assigning data in a struct

Hello all,

I am quite new to Arduino, so forgive my newbieness … but we all have been here.
I used to program in Progress, some SQL, MySQL and php, but C++ (arduino C++ to be exact), is a bit confusing, especially the arrays and pointers, which I cannot get my head around.

I am writing a program to monitor temperature and humidity in different ‘rooms’ with different ‘containers’. Based on some minimum, optimum and maximum values, I need to turn on a heater, fan or cooling. And so on…

I am new to structs and have a lot of problems with arrays and assigning a value into an array, as one might be a char, another a int or String…

#define LOCSENS 4

typedef struct {
 char location[3]; // Value 1
 byte locnumber;   // Value 2
 char senstype[2]; // Value 3
 char roomsens[5]; // STORE HERE THE VALUES 1,2,3 (location+locnumber+sensytpe)
}record_type;

record_type record[LOCSENS] = {
 {"ER",0,"T"},
 {"NR",0,"T"},
 {"GR",0,"T"},
 {"PR",0,"T"}
};

void setup() {
 Serial.begin(9600);
}  
void loop() {
 PrintLocSens(); 
 delay(1000);
}
void PrintLocSens() {
 for (byte y = 0; y < LOCSENS-1; y++) {

// THIS IS NOT WORKING ... :-( PLEASE HELP !

record[y].roomsens = String(record[y].location + record[y].locnumber + record[y].senstype);

// OUTPUT SHOULD BE: ER0T / NR0T / GR0T / PR0T
   Serial.println(record[y].roomsens);
 }
}

I get the following error with this code:
error: invalid operands of types ‘char*’ and ‘char [2]’ to binary ‘operator+’

It seems I cannot use ‘+’ to append these values.
If I take out the "String(…) I get this error (which makes a bit more sense, but still doesn’t point me in the right direction…

error: incompatible types in assignment of ‘char [3]’ to ‘char [5]’

I tried some other things, but most of them generated other errors.
I assume there should be an easy way to do this…

Can anybody give me a hint how to do this?

Thanks guys…