HELP Automatic 24h feeder with stepper motor

Hello averyone,

i am new guy here on forum. In past i bought arduino for astronomy project, but i didnt finish it. So now i am left with arduino and stepper motor.
I was thinking to make 25kg plastic barrel full of corn and i would like to feed animals lets say at 19:00 each day. I was thinking this motor should rotate 2-5 seconds so the corn will fly around on floor and after 5 sec it will stop. Mayby you have some idea better than mine? I was thinking to feed 1-3kg per day of corn at specific time.

Can anyone please help me with programing? I have 0 knowledge of programing arduino. Do you think stepper can do the job or i would need servo ?

I have:
Arduino duemilanove Compatible B75814
35BYJ412B 12VDC 120om LEILI CHANGZHOU CHINA stepper motor

and other things i am posting my picture

Thank you

Ronzi83

I suggest You feef Your animals Yourself. From a close relative being a farmer I know that the social aspect of human contact is positivr for the health of animals.

I dont want to debate whats good whats wrong. I will be away few days and there is no possibility to get another persone to feed them. So only option it this one till i am back.

Thank you

i would not try flinging corn as a method of measurement. Use a drum with correct size gap for the amount of corn you intend to feed and then rotate 360 degrees slowly for each feed. Have the hopper above the drum. You could pot multiple containers and only rotate a fraction relating to 360/Number of containers but you need adequate dead space to prevent leakage.

your project consists of 2 different parts.
mechanical and electrical.

The stepper requires a power supply and a stepper driver. Lots to learn to get any efficiency out of them.
typically, a chopper driver in the hobby world cannot take more than 24Volts.